Two UCSB Mathematics faculty members named AMS Fellows

Award Recipient: 

Hector D. Ceniceros, Zhenghan Wang

Award Date: 

Thursday, November 1, 2018

Hector CenicerosFellow: Hector D. Ceniceros

Citation: For contributions to numerical analysis, fluid mechanics, and soft materials and for professional leadership, outreach and guidance of postdoctoral, graduate and undergraduate students.

Fellow: Zhenghan Wang

Citation: For contributions to quantum computing and topological quantum field theory.

Hector and Zhenghan join 14 previously named fellows in the UC Santa Barbara Mathematics Department, including 4 Emeritus Professors and 10 (now 12) current faculty members.

AMS press release:

Providence, RI - Sixty five mathematical scientists from around the world have been named Fellows of the American Mathematical Society (AMS) for 2019, the program's seventh year.
To see the names of individuals who are in this year's class, their institutions and citations, visit .
The Fellows of the AMS designation recognizes members who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication, and utilization of mathematics. The AMS is pleased to present the class of 2019 Fellows who are being recognized by their peers for their contributions to the profession, and also to honor excellence.
"This year's class of AMS Fellows has been selected from a large and deep pool of superb candidates. It is my pleasure and honor as AMS President to congratulate the new Fellows for their diverse contributions to the mathematical sciences and to the mathematics profession." says AMS President Kenneth A. Ribet.
  • Award
  • AMS
  • Hector Ceniceros
  • Zhenghan Wang